Each year, OCPRA members tackle a relevant issue in our fall workshop, open to colleagues in all PR related fields and others interested. Co-sponsored by the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education Communicator’s Council, our fall workshop provides excellent networking and learning opportunities. Recent fall workshops have examined leadership, emotional intelligence, crisis communications, admissions marketing, and more.


10:00 a.m. to 2 p.m., Wednesday, Nov. 16 | Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame
The museum is free and open from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
4040 N. Lincoln Blvd., Oklahoma City; just north of the state capital

Registration: $55 (includes lunch)

This year's Fall Workshop is presented by the OCPRA .

Panelists include our two speakers and from left:  Bria Marie Bowler , UCO student;  Cindy Dougherty , SWOSU Dean of Students;  Bradd Brown , OCU Chief of Police.

Panelists include our two speakers and from left: Bria Marie Bowler, UCO student; Cindy Dougherty, SWOSU Dean of Students; Bradd Brown, OCU Chief of Police.



The OCPRA/OSRHE Communicators Council Fall Workshop will focus on "Diversity - We're all in!."

We are pleased to present an important topic that is relevant to us all - diversity. Our campuses are celebrating a diverse student population and recognizing that it is our differences that provide unique perspectives from which to solve problems and implement new ideas.

As communicators, the OCPRA believes this topic to be an important one as we work to convey the message that our campuses are a place where all of our students can learn, grow and thrive.

Our campus diversity offices are providing support to underrepresented minorities that are resulting in greater retention rates. Our goal is to create a climate in which all of our students can thrive in a safe and inclusive environment that recognizes and celebrates our differences. Our communicators are a vital part of that process.


10 - 11 a.m. – Presentations by Dr. Jason Kirksey and Lisa Morales followed by Q&A
Coffee and water will be available.

11:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. – Diversity Panel

12:15 - 1:45 p.m. – Luncheon and Presentation of the Natalea Watkins Communicator of the Year Award and the Randy Talley Rising Star Award

2 p.m. – Adjourn

*In the unlikely event the workshop is cancelled, 100% of the registration fee will be reimbursed to the registrant.



                       Dr. Jason Kirksey

Dr. Jason Kirksey is the vice president for Institutional Diversity and the chief diversity officer at Oklahoma State University. He also holds the rank of associate professor of Political Science at OSU. 

LinkedIn | Website

Lisa Morales is the executive director of the Diversity and Inclusion Program for the Gallogly College of Engineering at the University of Oklahoma.

LinkedIn | Website